Deandre Hill

Deandre Hill with his supervisors from the volunteer educational program
Deandre Hill with his supervisors from the volunteer educational program

Hi there – my name is Deandre Hill, I am 29 years old, and I am serving a sentence of Life Without the Possibility of Parole (LWOP). In 2008, I was convicted of murder robbery under the Felony Murder Role as an aider and abettor. I take full responsibility for my participation in the robbery although there was no intent on any of this happening.

I did not commit the homicidal act nor did I have any knowledge that it was going to happen. However, I still regret my participation and wish that I could have done more to prevent it. I am now a husband, stepfather, uncle and a better role model for many youth as well as my family and I am passionate about promoting education and giving back to my community.

I was born and raised in Oakland and am the youngest of 4 siblings with two brothers and a sister. My father has been incarcerated throughout my whole life. In 2003 when I was 14 years of age, my mother passed away from cancer. I then went to live with my grandmother with very little time she taught me a lot. Responsibility, good work ethics, proper goal setting amongst many other things. Unfortunately, I still sought guidance and approval from my peers who were the wrong role models.

I have now matured and I strive to give back to society in any way that I can. I have maintained employment throughout my incarceration as a tutor and clerk within the education department. I have earned my GED and I am now in pursuit of my AA degree. I have completed several self-help programs as well as facilitator training. Furthermore, I have managed to stay clean of any violence for 10 years now with hopes to be a better example to other young men.